Bergdorf Goodman Restaurant

In a wonderland of classic Chanel, chic Tom Ford and sparkling Givenchy, I found myself on the 7th floor of Bergdorf Goodman in New York City last week, drooling over a pair of Christian Louboutins the menu at the glamorous BG Restaurant.

My friend Annie, a frequent at the BG Restaurant, beamed about the picturesque views and luscious plates the bistro had to offer and decided to treat me to the experience while I was visiting her. And, I have to say, it did not disappoint!

Dining at BG Restaurant

The scenic views of central park, the luxurious 1920s inspired bar, the delightful service and, of course, the scrumptious cooking was a tranquil getaway from the hectic city below us. We relaxed in the plush dome chairs and eavesdropped on some of the Upper Eastside gossip while perusing the wine list.

View of Central Park

I sipped on a crisp glass of pinot grigio and Annie, on a champagne flute of Tartalni, a brut rosé and munched on a toasted whole grain roll with sea-salted butter (yum!). As I browsed the menu, I knew it would be a tough decision on what I would be filling my rumbling stomach with.

Bread Basket and Wine

Finally, I decided on the Croque Madame. A grilled sandwich with rich gruyere cheese baked on the outside of perfectly crunchy bread, stuffed with salty black forest ham, slightly spicy Dijon, creamy béchamel sauce and topped with a perfectly cooked over-easy egg.  The sleek yellow yolk overflowed around my sandwich making me wish it was acceptable to lick my plate afterwards.

 Croque Madame

The first bite had me dreaming of my time in Paris, picnicking with a luscious Croque Monsieur under the Eiffel Tower and running down the Champs-Élysées with a baguette in hand. I only snapped out of my Paris daydream to continue eating!

Up Close Croque Madame

While I went with a French classic, Annie decided on one of the specials, The Day Boat Cod. This was not surprising, as our waiter uttered the word apple when describing the daily special Annie had immediately made up her mind. The cod was perfectly seared topped with crisp sliced apples and  scattered with ruby-red pomegranate seeds that created a happy springtime taste.

Day Boast Cod

We cleared our plates within minutes of their arrival (we were just a little hungry) and basked in the glory of the wonderful meal we had just scarfed down.  Although turning down dessert was hard, our ‘food babies’  would not allow us to eat another bite. After our lunch we did what any two girls full of food energy would do…shop!

Leave a Reply

