A Grilled Cheese Heaven

A little before dinnertime every night once in awhile, I find myself browsing Pinterest for easy, quick and delicious recipes. While I scanned through pictures of boring crockpot dinners and gourmet meals I can never replicate, the other night, I came across this pin:

Pinterest Grilled Cheese

…which I obviously had to click on! Well, that click may or may not have been one of the best decisions I have ever made, because it brought me to Grilled Cheese Social.

Since as far back as I can remember, my favorite food has been a good ‘ol grilled cheese. While my palate has grown over time from my mom’s “girl chesses”, the basic plain white bread and American cheese combo, (still arguably one of my favorite meals), to Rosemary & Thyme’s Harvest Sandwich with oven roasted pork loin, sautéed spinach, caramelized onions, harvest chutney, hickory smoked bacon, and a four cheese blend, served on a grilled baguette.

I still have a hard time ordering anything but a grilled cheese if I see one on a menu. It’s the perfect combination of 2 of my favorite things: bread and cheese. It’s easy to spicy it up by adding anything from fruit to meats to veggies.

So, when I came across, this grilled cheese paradise blog, I started thinking back to the hundreds of thousands of grilled cheeses I must have consumed over the years and one in particular popped into my mind.

Red Stripe’s Signature Grilled Cheese.

Grilled Cheese

This sandwich is unlike any other; made with prosciutto, sweet poached pear and basil pesto on perfectly browned thick sough dough bread. This makes for one gourmet grilled cheese experience. Combining that with the perfectly tangy roasted tomato soup makes me believe I have died and gone to heaven.

Honestly, though if you ever find yourself in Providence make your way to Red Stripe. I promise you won’t regret it.

Where do you think the best grilled cheese in Rhode Island is? I’d love to try some of your suggestions!

Leave a Reply

