Q&A with Rosemary & Thyme

Rosemary and Thyme Artisan Bakery & Café graced Newport with its presence in the spring of 2010. When I sit in the small intimate café and bite into one of their carefully crafted artisan sandwich on a freshly baked baguette, I feel as if I have been transported back to when I was living Italy (a feeling I love to revisit). Since it opened, Rosemary and Thyme has easily become one of my favorite spots.

Rosemary and Thyme Sign

From the delicious lemon ricotta muffins and chocolate croissants, to the tomato and spinach crostinis and gourmet paninis, the owners, Matt and Anna Tscheulin, have fashioned a brilliant menu with exciting flavors that make your mouth water.

Matt and Anna have used their life experiences to create a food utopia.

Matt grew up in the restaurant industry. He began washing dishes at the age of 16 and he worked his way up to become a line chef. Then he went on to own a small restaurant before creating Rosemary and Thyme.

Anna was raised in the small village of Langenberg, Germany. The old-world recipes and techniques she learned baking in her mother’s kitchen helps her create delicious European style baked goods.

Verona Sandwich

I was lucky enough to have Matt answer a few questions for me while I dreamed of his flawless cooking!

Q: Where did the inspiration/idea for Rosemary and Thyme come from?
A: “Rosemary and Thyme was born out necessity, we could not find a place [in Newport] that made great scratch-made baked goods, and artisan sandwiches—a small intimate European style place where everything was made fresh everyday in real time”.

Q: What do you enjoy most about working at Rosemary and Thyme?
A: “I think we enjoy not only cooking for our customers but also our interaction with them as well”

Q: What are your favorite items on the menu?
A: “Anna’s favorite is the Luxembourg Grilled Ham and Cheese Sandwich, which is ham, date and honey goat cheese spread, fig compote, caramelized onions, and aged smoked Gouda. I created this sandwich for her on her 40th birthday.”

“For me, I would say its a toss up between the Havana Cuban Pressed Panini Sandwich, or the classic Bahn Mi I really enjoy making all the ingredients that go into the sandwich, from the roast pork to the pork pâté, and the pickled veggies.”

Q: If you could only eat one thing for the rest of your life, what would it be?
A: “Anna would eat curry dusted roasted chicken, she makes a mean 3 lb. WOG. I would eat any peasant meal made with cheap cuts of pork, lamb, chicken, with fresh vegetables.”

Q: What are your top 3 restaurants in Newport and why?
A: “If I can only pick 3…

# 1 would be The Black Pearl. We are friends with the chef, he has dedicated his life to his craft and it shows in the quality of the food he puts out of his kitchen.

# 2 Thames Street Kitchen. I appreciate how hard these young chefs work. They create all in house products and have opened their newest restaurant –  Mission, which specializes in artisan burgers and dogs.

#3. Brick Alley Pub. For the pure fact that it’s our go to place, and I have never been disappointed. Always spot on, and the price is right. Not fancy just good.

Spinach & Arugula Salad

Rosemary and Thyme’s fresh taste and European flare makes me fall in love each time I return.

A special thank you goes to Matt Tscheulin for taking the time to answer my questions.

Leave a Reply

